Choosing the right payment app for a large transfer can save you fees and frustration. Here is the complete 2026 comparison of every major payment app limit — verified and unverified. Venmo’s limits require special attention: its weekly spending limit ($60,000) is dramatically higher than its bank-transfer limit ($5,000/transfer, $19,999.99/week), which trips up a lot of comparisons.
Master Comparison: All Apps at a Glance
App
Max per Transaction
Weekly Cap
Fee (P2P)
Speed
Best For
Zelle
Bank-set (varies by bank)
Varies by bank
Typically free
Typically within minutes
Bank-to-bank transfers (no standalone app)
PayPal
$60,000 (verified)
No stated overall cap
Free (F&F)
1–3 days or instant
Highest single transaction
Cash App
Higher once verified; shown in the app
Shown in the app
Free (standard)
1–3 days or instant
Crypto + cash flexibility
Venmo
$60,000/week spending; $5,000/transfer to your bank
$60,000 spending; $19,999.99 bank-transfer
Free (bank funded)
1–3 days or instant
Social payments, splitting
Apple Cash
Confirm current limit
Confirm current limit
Free
Instant
iPhone users
Google Pay
N/A — no US P2P feature (discontinued June 2024)
N/A
N/A
N/A
Tap-to-pay and online checkout only, not P2P
Samsung Pay
N/A (no P2P)
N/A
N/A
N/A
In-store tap-to-pay only
Zelle Limits by Bank
Zelle limits vary significantly by financial institution and are not always a flat daily figure — some banks (like Chase) use daily tiers instead. Always confirm your exact limit inside your bank’s app.
Bank
Daily Send Limit
Monthly Send Limit
Notes
Chase
$500, $2,000, $5,000 or $10,000 per day, by tier
Not disclosed
Daily tiers rather than a flat daily cap
Bank of America
$1,000–$3,500, by Zelle enrollment tenure
$20,000
Scales with how long you have been enrolled
Wells Fargo
$3,500 in a rolling 24 hours
$20,000 in a rolling 30 days
—
Citibank
Varies by relationship tier and enrollment time
Varies
Citi says limits can be lower for recent enrollments
Capital One
$3,000 (360 Checking)
Not disclosed
—
Ally Bank
Not published
Not published
Shown when you log in to Ally
See the full Zelle limits by bank guide for all institutions and business account limits.
Google Pay no longer supports P2P sending in the US (discontinued June 2024) — it’s tap-to-pay/checkout only
Zelle
N/A — bank controls
N/A
Bank KYC
Fees Comparison
App
P2P Sending Fee
Instant Withdrawal Fee
Credit Card Fee
Zelle
Typically free
Typically free (bank transfer)
N/A
PayPal (F&F)
Free
1.75% (max $25)
2.90% + $0.30
Venmo
Free
1.75% (max $25)
3%
Cash App
Free
0.5%-2.5% per its terms ($0.25-$1 minimum)
3%
Apple Cash
Free
Confirm current fee
N/A
Google Pay
N/A (no P2P feature)
N/A
N/A
Best App by Use Case
Situation
Best App
Why
Send $200–$500 to a friend
Venmo or Zelle
Simple, free, widely used
Send $1,000–$5,000 quickly
Zelle
Typically free; usually within minutes if both on Zelle
Send $5,000–$10,000
PayPal or Venmo
High spending caps once verified
Send $10,000–$60,000 in one transaction
PayPal
$60K/txn cap is the highest of the mainstream apps
International transfer
PayPal or Wise
PayPal has international reach; Wise has best rates
In-store tap-to-pay
Apple Pay, Google Pay, or Samsung Pay
All free, card-issuer limits
Paying a business
PayPal Goods & Services
Buyer protection included
Splitting a bill
Venmo
Best UX for groups
How Long Transfers Take
App
Standard (Free)
Instant (Fee)
Zelle
Typically within minutes
No separate instant option
PayPal
1–3 business days
~30 min (1.75%, max $25)
Venmo
1–3 business days
~30 min (1.75%, max $25)
Cash App
1–3 business days
Seconds to minutes (0.5%-2.5% per its terms, min $0.25)
Apple Cash
1–3 business days
Confirm current fee
Google Pay
N/A
N/A — no P2P transfer feature in the US since June 2024
Security: Which Apps Offer Buyer Protection?
App
Buyer Protection
Fraud Recovery
PayPal (Goods & Services)
✅ Full
✅ Dispute resolution
Venmo (Goods & Services, business profile)
Limited
Limited
Cash App
❌ P2P only
Limited
Zelle
❌ No
Limited — bank discretion
Apple Cash
❌ No
Limited
Google Pay
❌ No
Limited
Important: Only PayPal’s Goods & Services payments offer meaningful, full buyer protection. Venmo’s business-profile payments have some structure but weaker protection than PayPal. All other apps — and Friends & Family payments generally — are sent at your own risk with very limited recourse if you’re scammed.
Key Takeaways
Largest single transfer: PayPal ($60,000/txn verified)
Highest weekly spending capacity: Venmo ($60,000/week verified) — but its bank cash-out cap ($5,000/transfer) is much lower
Fastest free instant P2P transfer: Zelle (typically no fee, typically within minutes) — Google Pay no longer offers P2P sending in the US (discontinued June 2024)
Buyer protection on eligible purchases: PayPal Goods & Services (Venmo Purchase Protection also covers eligible purchases)
No standalone Zelle app: Zelle has no app of its own — you reach it through your bank or credit union’s app or online banking
WealthVieu researches and writes data-driven personal finance guides using primary sources including the IRS, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Federal Reserve, and Census Bureau.
The content on Wealthvieu is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial, tax, or investment advice. Consult a qualified professional before making financial decisions. Full disclaimer · Editorial policy
📬 Sign up for our newsletter
New guides and calculator updates from WealthVieu, by email.
No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
📬
Sign up for the WealthVieu newsletter
New guides and calculator updates, by email. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.