Cash App limits depend heavily on whether you’ve verified your identity. Unverified accounts are severely restricted — you can send and receive up to $1,000 on a rolling 30-day period, with a total account limit of $1,500. Verified accounts unlock dramatically higher limits across the board. Here’s everything you need to know about Cash App’s limits for sending, receiving, withdrawals, Bitcoin, and more.
Cash App Sending Limits
Cash App’s sending limits are based on a rolling 30-day window, not a calendar week or fixed monthly cycle. Your limit refreshes gradually as older transactions fall outside the 30-day period.
| Account Type | 30-Day Sending Limit | Per-Transaction Limit |
|---|---|---|
| Unverified | $1,000 (send and receive combined limit of $1,500 total) | Not separately stated |
| Verified | $40,000 | Not separately stated |
| Business account | Shown in the app | Shown in the app |
What Counts Toward Your Sending Limit
| Transaction Type | Counts? |
|---|---|
| Person-to-person payments | Yes |
| Payments to businesses via Cash App | Yes |
| Cash Card purchases | No (separate limit) |
| Bitcoin purchases | No (separate limit) |
| Offers (Cash App Card discounts) | No |
Cash App lets verified accounts send up to $40,000 per rolling 30 days; check Venmo’s limits as well before a large payment.
Cash App Receiving Limits
| Account Type | Receiving Limit |
|---|---|
| Unverified | $1,000 per rolling 30 days |
| Verified | Set per account; shown in the app’s Limits tab |
| Business account | Shown in the app’s Limits tab |
The $1,000 rolling 30-day cap for unverified accounts is one of Cash App’s strictest limits. If you expect to receive any significant amount of money — a rent payment from a roommate, a split bill, or a sale — you need to verify your identity first.
Cash Card Limits (Debit Card)
The Cash Card is Cash App’s free Visa debit card. It has its own set of daily and weekly limits that are separate from your person-to-person sending limits.
ATM Withdrawals
| Limit Type | Amount |
|---|---|
| Minimum weekly withdrawal limit | $1,000 (Cash App says actual limits may be higher) |
Purchases (Point-of-Sale)
| Limit Type | Amount |
|---|---|
| Per day | $7,000 |
| Per week | $10,000 |
| Per month | $25,000 |
Cash Back at Stores
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Available at | Retailers that offer cash back |
| Limit | Counts toward daily ATM limit |
| Fee | Free |
Cash App says cash withdrawal limits are at least $1,000 per week. If you need more cash, in-store cash back purchases or transferring funds to a linked bank account and using that bank’s ATM are better alternatives.
Free ATM Withdrawals
| Requirement | How to Qualify |
|---|---|
| $300+ in qualifying deposits or $500+ in qualifying purchases a month | Cash App’s $2.50 fee waived at in-network ATMs until the end of the following month |
| Otherwise | $2.50 Cash App fee per withdrawal |
| Out-of-network ATMs | $2.50 Cash App fee, plus any ATM operator fee |
Cash App’s terms say it waives its own $2.50 fee at in-network ATMs if you receive $300 or more in qualifying deposits (such as payroll direct deposit) or spend $500 or more in qualifying purchases in a month; out-of-network withdrawals still cost $2.50, and the ATM operator may add its own fee.
Cash App Direct Deposit Limits
| Feature | Amount |
|---|---|
| Per-deposit limit | $25,000 |
| In-network ATM fee waiver | $300/month in qualifying deposits (or $500 in qualifying purchases) |
| Early direct deposit | Up to 2 days early |
Cash App’s terms cap direct deposits to your balance at $25,000 per transaction. Your employer sends funds to your Cash App routing and account numbers, and the money lands directly in your Cash App balance — often up to 2 days before the official payday.
Cash App Instant Transfer vs Standard
Instant Transfer (to linked bank or debit card)
| Limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Fee | 0.5%-2.5% ($0.25-$1 minimum); the fee is shown at the time of the transaction and capped at $75 |
| Speed | Seconds to minutes |
Standard Transfer (to linked bank)
| Limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Fee | Free |
| Speed | 1-3 business days |
Standard transfers are free. Instant transfers are useful when you need money in your bank account immediately, but the fee adds up — a $5,000 instant transfer would cost $25.00 at 0.5%, and at the top 2.5% rate the $75 cap in Cash App’s terms would apply instead of $125.
Bitcoin Limits on Cash App
Cash App is one of the most popular ways to buy Bitcoin in the US. Bitcoin limits are separate from your person-to-person sending limits.
Buying Bitcoin
| Account Type | Weekly Limit |
|---|---|
| Unverified | $0 (not available) |
| Verified | $100,000 |
Selling Bitcoin
| Feature | Limit |
|---|---|
| Weekly limit | $100,000 |
| Minimum sell | $1 |
| Settlement | Instant to Cash App balance |
Sending/Receiving Bitcoin
| Action | Limit |
|---|---|
| Send Bitcoin (on-chain) | Shown in the app’s Limits screen |
| Receive Bitcoin | Unlimited |
| Lightning Network send | $999/week |
| Lightning Network receive | $999/week |
You must be fully verified (including SSN) to buy, sell, or send Bitcoin on Cash App. Cash App supports both on-chain Bitcoin transactions and Lightning Network for faster, cheaper transfers.
Cash App Stock/Investing Limits
| Feature | Limit |
|---|---|
| Minimum investment | $1 |
| Weekly purchase limit | No published cap |
| Fractional shares | Yes (as low as $1) |
| Auto-invest | $1 minimum, custom schedule |
Cash App Investing allows you to buy fractional shares of stocks and ETFs with as little as $1. There’s no published weekly cap on stock purchases as long as you have sufficient funds.
Cash App Paper Money (Deposit Cash)
You can add cash to your Cash App balance at participating retailers by showing a barcode from the app.
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Deposit locations | Walgreens, Dollar General, Family Dollar, 7-Eleven, more |
| Per-deposit limit | $500 |
| Daily limit | $1,000 |
| Weekly limit | $1,000 |
| Fee | $1 per deposit |
Paper Money deposits are a useful way to add cash to your account if you don’t have a linked bank. The $1,000 weekly limit matches the Cash Card ATM limit.
Verified vs Unverified: Full Comparison
| Feature | Unverified | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Sending | $1,000/30 days | $40,000/30 days |
| Receiving | $1,000/30 days | Set per account (see Limits tab) |
| Cash Card purchases | $7,000/day | $7,000/day |
| ATM withdrawals | $1,000/week | $1,000/week |
| Bitcoin buy/sell | Not available | $100,000/week |
| Direct deposit | Available | Available |
| Instant transfer | Available | Available |
| Standard transfer | Available | $25,000/transfer |
Verification transforms Cash App from a basic payment tool to a full financial account. Without it, the $1,000-per-30-day sending limit and $1,000 monthly receiving cap make Cash App nearly unusable for anything beyond the smallest transactions.
How to Verify Your Cash App Account
- Open Cash App → Profile icon → Personal
- Enter your full legal name
- Enter your date of birth
- Enter the last 4 digits of your SSN
- Cash App verifies — usually within minutes
Additional Verification (if prompted)
| Step | When Required |
|---|---|
| Full SSN | If last 4 digits can’t verify |
| Photo ID (front and back) | If automatic check fails |
| Selfie | Occasionally required |
| Address confirmation | Sometimes for higher limits |
Cash App Business Account Limits
| Feature | Personal (Verified) | Business |
|---|---|---|
| Sending limit | Higher; shown in the app | Shown in the app |
| Receiving | Set per account | Set per account |
| Transaction fees | Free | 2.6% + $0.15 (3% via Tap to Pay) |
| Invoice tools | No | Yes |
| Tax reporting | 1099-K if over $20,000 AND more than 200 transactions/year | 1099-K if over $20,000 AND more than 200 transactions/year |
Cash App Business accounts charge 2.6% + $0.15 on each payment received from a customer’s Cash App account (3% via Tap to Pay) — higher than Venmo’s 1.9% + $0.10 but lower than PayPal’s standard 3.49% + $0.49 checkout rate. For businesses processing large volumes of payments, this cost difference matters.
Cash App vs Other Payment Apps
| Feature | Cash App | Venmo | Zelle | PayPal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sending limit (verified) | $40,000/30 days | $60,000/week spending | Set by your bank | $60,000/transaction (may be limited to $10,000) |
| Receiving limit | Set per account | Not separately capped (bank cash-out capped at $19,999.99/week) | Usually unlimited | Unlimited |
| ATM limit | At least $1,000/week | $400/day | N/A | N/A |
| Instant transfer fee | 0.5%-2.5% per its terms (max $75) | 1.75% | Typically free | 1.75% |
| Bitcoin | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
| Stocks | Yes | No | No | No |
| Direct deposit | Yes | Yes | N/A | Yes |
| Debit card | Yes (free) | Yes (free) | No | Yes |
Cash App’s biggest advantages are its higher sending limit, free debit card with ATM access, and built-in stock and Bitcoin trading. Its main weakness compared to Zelle is that transfers aren’t instant-to-bank — they go to your Cash App balance first, then require a separate cash-out step.
Common Cash App Limit Issues
“This transfer exceeds your limit”
| Cause | Solution |
|---|---|
| Unverified account | Verify your identity |
| Hit 30-day cap | Wait for rolling 30-day reset |
| New account | Start with smaller transactions |
| Flagged for review | Contact Cash App support |
“Payment failed”
| Cause | Solution |
|---|---|
| Insufficient balance | Add funds from bank or debit card |
| Bank declined | Contact your bank |
| Expired card | Update payment method |
| Account restricted | Contact support |
Cash App Fees Summary
| Action | Fee |
|---|---|
| Send money (balance, bank, debit) | Free |
| Send money (credit card) | 3% |
| Instant transfer to bank | 0.5%-2.5% per its terms (max $75) |
| Standard transfer to bank | Free |
| ATM, in-network (with $300+ qualifying deposits or $500+ purchases a month) | Free |
| ATM, otherwise or out-of-network | $2.50 + any ATM operator fee |
| Paper Money deposits | $1 per deposit |
| Bitcoin buy/sell | Spread (shown before you confirm) |
| Business payments received | 2.6% + $0.15 (3% via Tap to Pay) |
Tax Reporting on Cash App
Cash App reports income to the IRS once an account receives more than $20,000 in payments for goods or services AND more than 200 transactions in a calendar year — both conditions must be met. This federal threshold was restored, retroactively, by the One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA), signed July 4, 2025, which repealed the much lower $600 threshold that had previously been scheduled to phase in. This applies to business accounts and any personal account receiving payments marked as “for goods or services.”
| Threshold | What Happens |
|---|---|
| Over $20,000 AND more than 200 transactions/year in business payments | Cash App sends 1099-K to you and IRS |
| Personal payments (friends/family) | Not reported (not taxable) |
| Bitcoin sales | Reported on 1099-B |
| Stock sales | Reported on 1099-B |
Keep records of which payments are personal (splitting bills, gifts) and which are business-related (selling goods, freelancing) so you can accurately file your taxes.
Bottom Line
Verified Cash App accounts get higher limits than unverified ones, shown in the app’s Limits screen. The key is verifying your identity, which takes minutes and is free. Without verification, the $1,000-per-30-day sending cap makes Cash App barely functional.
If you’re choosing between Cash App and competitors, the decision comes down to what you need: Cash App is best if you want Bitcoin, stocks, and a free debit card in one app. Zelle is best for fast, typically fee-free bank-to-bank transfers. Venmo is best for social payments and splitting bills with friends.
Related: Venmo Limits | Zelle Limits | Zelle vs Venmo vs PayPal | ATM Withdrawal Limits | Best Ways to Send Money
The content on Wealthvieu is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial, tax, or investment advice. Consult a qualified professional before making financial decisions. Full disclaimer · Editorial policy