Zelle sending limits are set by each individual bank — not by Zelle itself — and some banks (like Chase) use daily tiers rather than one flat cap. Chase’s consumer tiers run from $500 to $10,000 per day; Bank of America scales from $1,000 to $3,500 per day by how long you have been enrolled; Wells Fargo allows $3,500 in a rolling 24 hours. Zelle no longer has a standalone app, so you reach it through a participating bank or credit union. Here is the complete 2026 bank-by-bank breakdown. For help setting up Zelle at your bank, see the how to use Zelle guide.
Limits below are typical published figures and can vary by account tier, tenure, and time — always confirm your exact limit inside your bank’s app before relying on it for a large transfer.
Zelle Limits by Bank — 2026
| Bank | Daily Sending Limit | Monthly Sending Limit | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase (personal) | $500, $2,000, $5,000 or $10,000 per day, by tier | Not disclosed | Daily tiers rather than a flat daily cap |
| Bank of America | $1,000–$3,500, by Zelle enrollment tenure | $20,000 | Scales with how long you have been enrolled |
| Wells Fargo | $3,500 | $20,000 | |
| Citibank (standard) | Varies by relationship tier and how long you have been enrolled | Varies | Citi says limits can be lower for recent enrollments and can be reduced temporarily |
| US Bank | Not published — set per person, shown in online banking or app | Not published | US Bank says limits are set per person, not per account |
| Capital One | $3,000 (360 Checking) | Not disclosed | Capital One says limits can change |
| PNC | Not published — shown in PNC Mobile app | Not published | PNC does not publish a universal Zelle limit |
| Truist | Not published — shown in app | Not published | |
| TD Bank | $2,500 | $10,000 | Per TD’s own June 2026 Zelle Payments Service terms (consumer tier); TD Private Client Group: $5,000/day, $30,000/month |
| Regions Bank | Not published — varies by account, shown in app | Not published | |
| Fifth Third Bank | Check in the Fifth Third app or online banking | Check in the app | |
| Citizens Bank | $2,500 | $10,000 | |
| Ally Bank | Not published — shown when you log in to Ally | Not published | |
| Huntington | Not published — varies by account, shown in app | Not published | |
| USAA Federal Savings Bank | Check in the USAA app or online banking | Check in the app |
Limits apply to personal checking accounts. Business account limits are set by your bank and can differ from personal ones — see Zelle for Small Business for specifics. Contact your bank directly for exact business account Zelle limits.
How Zelle Limits Work
Zelle limits are generally a cap on the total dollar amount you can send in a given period — but Chase’s tiers work a little differently: each transaction falls within a tier limit that reflects the total you can send in a day. If your bank uses a running daily limit (e.g., Wells Fargo’s $3,500/day) and you send $2,000 in the morning, you can send a maximum of $1,500 more until the earlier transfer falls outside your bank’s limit period.
Banks count limits in different ways. Wells Fargo and Capital One describe their daily limit as a rolling 24 hours, and Wells Fargo and Regions use a rolling 30-day window for the monthly cap, so check how your own bank counts.
Worked example: You want to send $4,000 to a family member and bank at Wells Fargo (limit: $3,500/day). You’d need to split it into two transfers: $3,500 now and $500 once the first transfer is more than 24 hours old, because Wells Fargo counts a rolling 24-hour period. Wire and ACH transfers have their own limits, which your bank sets, and they may allow a larger single amount — see the best ways to send money guide for alternatives.
How to Check Your Personal Zelle Limit
Your bank’s specific limit may differ from the published figures above, especially for:
- New accounts or recent Zelle enrollments (Bank of America, for example, steps its limit up with enrollment time)
- Relationship-tier customers (Citi, for example, lists increased Zelle limits for relationship-tier accounts)
- Business vs. personal accounts
To check your exact limit:
- Open your bank’s app → find Zelle → start a transfer
- Try entering an amount over the estimated limit — the app will tell you if you’ve exceeded it
- Call your bank’s customer service line
- Check your bank’s online help center / FAQ
Why Banks Have Different Zelle Limits
Each bank independently sets its own Zelle sending limit. Some banks vary the limit by how long you have been enrolled (Bank of America) or by relationship tier (Citi).
Large banks own Zelle’s operator, Early Warning Services, but they don’t necessarily offer higher limits than smaller banks — Chase’s lowest consumer daily tier, for example, is $500. Limits are set by each bank rather than rising with a bank’s size.
Increasing Your Zelle Limit
Zelle itself doesn’t set or raise limits — your bank controls this entirely. Zelle’s own support page tells people using it through a bank to call the number on the back of their debit card.
| Bank | How to Request a Limit Increase |
|---|---|
| Chase | Call 1-800-935-9935 (Chase’s personal banking line) or the number on the back of your card |
| Bank of America | Call 1-800-432-1000 (Bank of America’s checking and savings line) or the number on the back of your card |
| Wells Fargo | Call 1-800-869-3557 (general banking) or the number on the back of your card |
| Citi | Call 1-800-374-9700 or the number on the back of your card |
| Most others | Call main customer service number |
Whether a bank offers any limit increase, temporary or permanent, depends on that bank’s own policies.
Zelle vs Other Apps: Limit Comparison
If your Zelle limit isn’t high enough for a particular transfer, here are the alternatives:
| App | Max Verified Per-Transaction/Day | Max Sending Limit (Verified) | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zelle (Chase) | Up to $10,000/day (top consumer tier) | Not disclosed | Free |
| Cash App (verified) | Higher than unverified; shown in the app’s Limits screen | Not published | Free (balance or debit card) |
| Venmo (verified) | $60,000/week spending; $5,000/transfer to bank | $60,000/week spending | Free standard |
| PayPal (verified) | Up to $60,000/transaction (may be limited to $10,000) | No cap on the total amount | Free F&F (balance or bank account) |
| Bank wire | Set by your bank | N/A | Varies by bank |
For a full comparison of all payment app limits, see the payment app limits comparison. To see which banks participate in Zelle at all, see the banks that use Zelle guide.
The content on Wealthvieu is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial, tax, or investment advice. Consult a qualified professional before making financial decisions. Full disclaimer · Editorial policy