Zelle is available in over 2,400 bank and credit union apps. Zelle is operated by Early Warning Services, LLC, a company owned by seven major banks: JPMorgan Chase, Bank of America, Wells Fargo, US Bank, Truist, Capital One, and PNC. If your bank participates, Zelle appears directly inside your bank’s app — and since Zelle no longer has a standalone app, that’s now the only way to access Zelle. For a full comparison of Zelle and other payment options, see the Payment Apps Guide.

Major Banks That Support Zelle

Limits below are typical published figures and can vary by account tier and tenure — confirm your exact limit inside your bank’s app.

Bank Zelle Daily Limit Zelle Monthly Limit
Chase $500, $2,000, $5,000 or $10,000 per day, by tier Not disclosed
Bank of America $1,000–$3,500, by Zelle enrollment tenure $20,000
Wells Fargo $3,500 in a rolling 24 hours $20,000 in a rolling 30 days
Citi Varies by relationship tier and enrollment time Varies
US Bank Not published — set per person, shown in online banking or app Not published
Capital One $3,000 (360 Checking) Not disclosed
PNC Not published — shown in PNC Mobile app Not published
Truist Not published — shown in app Not published
TD Bank $2,500 $10,000
Navy Federal Credit Union Confirm current limit Confirm current limit
Ally Bank Not published — shown when you log in to Ally Not published
Regions Bank Not published — varies by account, shown in app Not published
Fifth Third Bank Not published — shown in app Not disclosed
Citizens Bank $2,500 $10,000

Limits listed are for personal checking accounts and may be higher for Preferred or Premier tier customers. Business accounts often have separate (sometimes higher) limits. For bank-by-bank Zelle limits in full detail, see the Zelle limits by bank guide.

How Zelle Works at Participating Banks

When your bank supports Zelle, the process is:

  1. Open your bank’s mobile app
  2. Find the Zelle option in the payments section
  3. Enroll with your US mobile phone number or email address (one-time setup)
  4. To send: enter the recipient’s enrolled phone number or email → enter amount → confirm
  5. Money arrives in the recipient’s account within minutes if they’re already enrolled

There is no separate Zelle app to download when your bank is a partner — everything happens inside your existing bank app. Zelle does not hold your money; funds move directly between bank accounts.

Worked example: You owe your landlord $1,500 for rent. You open Chase’s app, find Zelle, enter your landlord’s phone number, and send $1,500. If your landlord is enrolled at any Zelle-participating bank, the money typically arrives within minutes, typically with no fee.

Banks That Support Zelle: Online Banks

Many online banks also participate in Zelle:

Online Bank Zelle Support Notes
Ally Bank ✅ Yes Available in Ally mobile app
SoFi ✅ Yes Available in SoFi app
Discover Bank Confirm current status Check Discover’s app directly
Marcus by Goldman Sachs Confirm current status Historically no Zelle; check current status
Axos Bank Confirm current status Check Axos’s app directly
American Express Savings ❌ No Not a checking account

Note that Zelle generally requires a checking or money market account with debit card access. Savings-only accounts (like a savings-only high-yield account) typically cannot support Zelle.

What to Do If Your Bank Doesn’t Support Zelle

If your bank doesn’t offer Zelle, your options are limited, because Zelle no longer has a standalone app to fall back on.

Option 1: Ask your bank about adding Zelle, or switch banks

  • Contact your bank and ask whether Zelle support is planned
  • If it’s important to you, consider switching to a participating bank — see Which Banks Support Zelle

Option 2: Use an alternative app

  • Venmo: $60,000/week verified spending limit, social features, widely used (bank cash-out capped separately at $5,000/transfer)
  • Cash App: higher limits once verified, Cash Card available
  • PayPal: highest published per-transaction limit for verified users (up to $60,000, which PayPal may limit to $10,000), Purchase Protection on eligible purchases

See the best ways to send money guide for a fee and speed comparison across all options.

Credit Unions That Support Zelle

Beyond the major banks, thousands of credit unions participate in Zelle. Navy Federal Credit Union is one. Credit unions join Zelle individually, so don’t assume yours does.

If you bank at a smaller credit union, check the Zelle partner list at zelle.com or look for “Zelle” in your credit union’s mobile app.

How to Check If Your Bank Supports Zelle

  1. In your bank’s app: Search for “Zelle” in the app’s menu or transfers section
  2. On Zelle’s website: Visit zelle.com → scroll to “Find your bank or credit union”
  3. Call your bank: Ask if Zelle is available for your account type
  4. Check your bank’s website: Search “[Bank name] Zelle” in your browser

Key Takeaways

Question Answer
How many banks support Zelle? Over 2,400 bank and credit union apps
Is Zelle built into bank apps? Yes, at participating banks — and that’s the only way in now
Highest published daily Zelle limit among major banks Chase, up to $10,000/day (top consumer tier)
What if my bank doesn’t support it? No standalone app anymore — switch banks or use an alternative app
Does Zelle work at credit unions? Yes, thousands participate

For sending limits at every major bank in one table, see the Zelle limits by bank guide. For how Zelle compares to Venmo, Cash App, and PayPal on fees and speed, see the payment app limits comparison.

WealthVieu
Written by WealthVieu

WealthVieu researches and writes data-driven personal finance guides using primary sources including the IRS, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Federal Reserve, and Census Bureau.

The content on Wealthvieu is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial, tax, or investment advice. Consult a qualified professional before making financial decisions. Full disclaimer · Editorial policy