Banks set their own wire fees, but that published fee is rarely the full cost. International wires also carry exchange rate markups (commonly estimated at 2–4% at major banks) and correspondent bank fees — costs that can add well over $100 to a $5,000 transfer. Understanding the complete cost structure is the difference between choosing the right transfer method and overpaying. For a full comparison of wire vs ACH, see the wire transfers guide.
The Three Layers of Wire Transfer Costs
Most people see only Layer 1. Layers 2 and 3 can cost more than the disclosed fee.
| Cost Layer | Domestic Wire | International Wire | Who Pays |
|---|---|---|---|
| Layer 1: Published wire fee | Varies by bank | Varies by bank | Sender |
| Layer 2: Exchange rate markup | N/A (USD to USD) | Commonly estimated 2–4% of amount | Built into exchange rate — often invisible |
| Layer 3: Correspondent bank fees | Rare | Commonly $15–$30 per intermediary | Deducted from transfer amount |
Illustrative example — sending $5,000 to the UK via a major bank (figures are estimates; confirm your bank’s current fee and rate before sending):
- Published wire fee: ~$45
- Exchange rate markup (assuming 3% on $5,000): ~$150
- Correspondent bank fee (1 intermediary, assuming $25): ~$25
- Estimated total cost: ~$220 vs the ~$45 fee advertised
Domestic Wire Transfer Fees by Bank (2026)
| Bank | Outgoing Domestic | Incoming Domestic | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | $25 (online) / $35 (branch) | $15 | Free with Chase Private Client |
| Bank of America | $30 | $15 | Check with the bank for any BofA Rewards waiver |
| Wells Fargo | $30 (digital) / $40 (branch) | No fee | Fee schedule effective September 2026 |
| Citibank | $30 online ($25 Citi Priority) | $15 | Waived for Citi Priority and Citigold on incoming; outgoing online waived for Citigold — not free for all accounts |
| US Bank | $30 | $20 | — |
| TD Bank | $30 | $15 | — |
| PNC | $25 (self-service) / $30 (agent-assisted) | $15 | No charge for domestic wires on Virtual Wallet with Performance Select |
| Fidelity | $0 | $0 | Brokerage/cash management account |
| Schwab Bank | $25 ($15 online); three free online wires a quarter with $100,000+ in household balances | $0 | Domestic wires only |
| USAA | Confirm with USAA | $0 (incoming domestic: no charge) | Outgoing domestic fee not confirmed here |
| Ally Bank | $20 | $0 | Fee refunded for Ally Bank ↔ Ally Invest transfers; not free for external wires |
| SoFi | $30 | $0 | Not free outgoing — $30 fee applies |
| Navy Federal CU | $14 | $0 | — |
| PenFed CU | $30 | $0 | — |
Bottom line for domestic wires: If you wire money regularly, an account at Fidelity can eliminate Layer 1 costs entirely for outgoing domestic wires, and Schwab Bank can too if you qualify for its free online wires. Ally and SoFi are not free for outgoing wires despite sometimes being marketed that way — Ally charges $20 and SoFi $30 per outgoing domestic wire. For infrequent domestic wires, most traditional banks’ $25–$35 fee is reasonable.
International Wire Transfer Fees by Bank (2026)
| Bank | Outgoing International | Incoming International | Exchange Rate Markup |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase | $40 online (USD) / $5 online (foreign currency, waived at $5,000+) / $50 branch | $15 | Not disclosed by Chase as a fixed percentage — commonly estimated around 2–3% |
| Bank of America | $45 (USD) / $0 (foreign currency, markup applies) | $15 | Not disclosed as a fixed percentage — commonly estimated around 2–3% |
| Wells Fargo | $30 online (USD) / $0 online (foreign currency) / $40 branch | No fee | Not disclosed as a fixed percentage |
| Citibank | $40 USD online ($35 Citi Priority) | $15 (waived for Citi Priority, Citigold and Citigold Private Client) | Not disclosed as a fixed percentage |
| Ally Bank | Not offered — Ally discontinued outgoing international wires | $0 (received via a correspondent bank) | N/A |
| Schwab Bank | Not offered (domestic wires only) | Not accepted (domestic wires only) | N/A |
| Wise | Disclosed flat/percentage fee shown before sending | N/A | Typically well under 1%, disclosed upfront |
| OFX | Percentage-based, no flat fee | N/A | Disclosed at time of quote |
| Remitly | Varies by corridor and speed | N/A | Varies by corridor |
Exchange rate markup percentages above are commonly cited industry estimates, not figures published by the banks themselves — banks do not disclose a fixed markup percentage, so treat these as approximate and confirm the actual rate quoted at the time you send. For international transfers, compare a specialist service’s disclosed rate against your bank’s quoted rate before sending; specialist services frequently, but not always, beat bank pricing.
The Exchange Rate Markup: The Hidden Cost
Banks do not advertise their exchange rate markup as a fee. Instead, they quote you an exchange rate slightly worse than the mid-market rate (the rate you see on Google or XE.com) and keep the difference.
How to calculate the markup:
- Look up the current mid-market rate for your currency pair on xe.com
- Compare to the rate your bank offers
- The percentage difference is the markup
Illustrative example: If the mid-market EUR/USD rate were 1.0850 and your bank quoted 1.0525, the markup would be approximately 3%. On a €4,000 transfer, that would cost roughly $130 more than the mid-market rate — on top of the published wire fee. Actual rates move daily; check both the mid-market rate and your bank’s quoted rate on the day you send.
Correspondent Bank Fees: Why Recipients Sometimes Get Less
International wires often route through one or more correspondent banks — intermediary institutions that help move money across borders when the sending and receiving banks don’t have a direct relationship. Each correspondent bank may deduct a SWIFT fee, from the transfer amount.
How to minimize correspondent bank deductions:
- Use SWIFT GPI (Global Payments Innovation) if your bank supports it — tracks the wire and often pre-agrees fees
- Send via a specialist service (Wise, OFX) that uses local bank networks rather than SWIFT correspondents
- Use the OUR payment instruction (where you pay all fees upfront rather than SHA shared-fee arrangement) — though this doesn’t always prevent deductions
- Warn the recipient to expect possible deductions on large international wires
What Premium Account Holders Pay
| Bank | Premium Account | Wire Benefit |
|---|---|---|
| Chase | Private Client | No Chase fees on incoming or outgoing wires (the benefit doesn’t cover the foreign exchange spread) |
| Citibank | Citigold / Citi Priority | Citigold waives incoming wires and outgoing online wires; Citi Priority waives incoming wires and charges less for outgoing online wires (branch and banker-assisted wires can still carry fees) |
| Schwab | Schwab Bank accounts | Three free online outgoing wires a quarter with $100,000+ in household balances |
If you regularly wire large amounts — for real estate, business, or international transfers — a premium banking relationship that waives wire fees can pay for itself quickly.
Cheaper Alternatives to Bank Wire Transfers
| Method | Best For | Typical Cost | Speed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wise | International transfers | Disclosed fee + markup typically under 1% | 1–2 days |
| OFX | Large international transfers ($1,000+) | Percentage markup, no flat fee | 1–3 days |
| Zelle | Domestic P2P (limit varies by bank, commonly $500–$5,000+/day) | Free | Minutes |
| ACH | Domestic transfers | Free | 1–3 days |
| Same-day ACH | Urgent domestic | Small per-transfer fee, varies by bank | Hours |
| Remitly | Remittances to developing countries | Varies by corridor and speed | Hours–2 days |
See the full wire transfer fees comparison for a detailed bank-by-bank breakdown, and ACH transfers for when free ACH beats a paid wire. For exact, current Zelle limits by bank, see Zelle limits.
The content on Wealthvieu is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial, tax, or investment advice. Consult a qualified professional before making financial decisions. Full disclaimer · Editorial policy