Charles Schwab Investor Checking refunds ATM operator fees at any ATM worldwide with no cap. Fidelity Cash Management does the same. Axos Rewards Checking offers unlimited domestic reimbursement. Below are the main accounts that reimburse ATM fees, starting with those with no cap, then capped accounts and a few that rely on fee-free ATM networks instead.

For context on how much ATM fees cost and why reimbursement matters, see the ATM fees guide and the full ATM Guide 2026.

ATM Fee Reimbursement and Fee-Free Networks — 2026 Comparison

Bank / Account Reimbursement Cap Domestic International
Charles Schwab Investor Checking Unlimited ✅ ✅
Fidelity Cash Management Unlimited ✅ ✅
Axos Rewards Checking Unlimited ✅ ❌
Chase Sapphire Banking No published cap (per Chase’s fee schedule) ✅ ✅
Alliant Credit Union $20/month ✅ Limited
Ally Spending Account $10 per statement cycle ✅ ❌
USAA Classic Checking Up to $10 per monthly statement cycle ✅ Not stated
SoFi Checking Allpoint network (55K ATMs) ✅ Limited
Capital One 360 No reimbursement advertised; large fee-free network ✅ Limited
Chime Allpoint, Visa Plus Alliance and FCTI ATMs inside 7-Eleven or Speedway stores ✅ ❌

Unlimited ATM Reimbursement: Top 3 Picks

1. Charles Schwab Investor Checking — Best Overall

Schwab Investor Checking refunds ATM operator fees at any ATM worldwide, with no cap. You can use any ATM that accepts the card, pay the surcharge at the machine, and Schwab credits it back as a lump sum on the same statement. The rebate covers cash withdrawals with the Schwab Bank debit card, not merchant fees on purchases or balance-inquiry fees, and Schwab says it can change or end the rebate at any time. There is no monthly fee and no minimum balance required, though the checking account is linked to a Schwab One brokerage account, which has no minimum balance requirement.

  • Daily ATM limit: ~$1,000
  • International: Yes — full worldwide reimbursement
  • Fee: $0 monthly

2. Fidelity Cash Management Account — Runner-Up for Unlimited

Fidelity reimburses all ATM fees worldwide with no cap, similar to Schwab. It’s a brokerage account with banking features, with no account fees or minimum balances. Fidelity also earns a money market yield on cash balances.

  • Daily ATM limit: Not published; shown in the Fidelity app under Manage debit cards
  • International: Yes — full worldwide reimbursement
  • Fee: $0 monthly

3. Axos Rewards Checking — Best for Domestic-Only

Axos reimburses unlimited domestic ATM fees — no cap — but does not cover international surcharges. The Rewards Checking account advertises up to 1.00% APY on the balance when you meet qualifying requirements, so it pays some interest on checking. See the full Axos ATM reimbursement guide for daily limits and how the reimbursement posts.


Capped Reimbursement Accounts

Ally Spending Account — $10 per Statement Cycle

Ally reimburses up to $10 per statement cycle. At the $3.22 average ATM surcharge in Bankrate’s 2025 survey, this covers about three withdrawals per statement cycle. Light ATM users will rarely exceed this cap; frequent users will.

Alliant Credit Union — $20/Month

Alliant Credit Union rebates up to $20/month in ATM fees, including on international withdrawals, when you use an Alliant Checking or Teen Checking debit card. At the $3.22 average ATM surcharge in Bankrate’s 2025 survey, that’s about six withdrawals per month. Alliant also gives members access to 80,000+ fee-free ATMs.

USAA Classic Checking — Capped Monthly Reimbursement

USAA’s fee schedule (effective October 2025) says it refunds up to $10 per monthly statement cycle in surcharge or usage fees from ATMs outside its network, and only when the ATM owner or network identifies the fee properly in the information it sends USAA.

Chase Sapphire Banking — Surcharge Refund With No Stated Cap

Chase’s premium checking tier includes a refund of ATM surcharge fees at non-Chase ATMs, per Chase’s own published fee schedule — the schedule language does not state a specific monthly dollar cap, unlike Ally’s or Alliant’s stated caps. The account’s $25/month service fee (a separate charge, not an ATM reimbursement limit) is waived with a $75,000+ average beginning day balance across the account and qualifying linked deposits or investments, or by linking a qualifying Chase checking account.


Free ATM Networks vs. Reimbursement — Key Difference

Some banks don’t reimburse fees — instead, they give you access to a surcharge-free network:

Approach How It Works Best For
ATM network (Allpoint, MoneyPass) No surcharge within network; fee outside Users near network ATMs
Fee reimbursement Use out-of-network ATMs; bank credits surcharges back (some cap the total) Frequent travelers, rural users

Network access is useful if your area has many Allpoint or MoneyPass machines. Reimbursement is better if you travel frequently, live rurally, or regularly need ATMs outside the network. See the Allpoint ATMs guide and MoneyPass ATMs guide for network coverage details.


How ATM Fee Reimbursement Works

  1. You use an eligible ATM and pay the surcharge at the machine
  2. The surcharge is debited from your account as a separate charge
  3. Your bank credits the surcharge amount back; timing depends on the bank
  4. The net cost is $0 once the credit posts — Fidelity credits it the same day, Alliant by the end of the day, and Schwab on the same statement

Important: Timing varies by bank. Fidelity credits the fee the same day, Alliant by the end of the day, and Schwab on the same statement, so if you’re tracking your balance tightly, check how your bank handles it.


Banks That Do NOT Reimburse ATM Fees

For context, major banks without ATM fee reimbursement on their standard accounts:

Bank Policy
Bank of America No reimbursement on standard accounts; $2.50 fee per withdrawal at non-Bank of America ATMs in the U.S. ($5 abroad)
Chase (Total Checking) No reimbursement; $3 to $5 fee at non-Chase ATMs
Wells Fargo No reimbursement on Clear Access Banking or Everyday Checking; $3 fee at non-Wells Fargo ATMs in the U.S. ($5 abroad)
Citibank No reimbursement at most tiers

These banks lean on their own ATM networks instead (Chase cites more than 14,000 ATMs and Wells Fargo more than 11,000). If you bank at a major traditional bank and regularly use non-network ATMs, switching to a Schwab, Fidelity, or Axos account for ATM use alone can avoid the bank’s own out-of-network fee ($2.50 to $3 per withdrawal in the U.S. at Bank of America, Chase and Wells Fargo) plus the operator’s surcharge.


Bottom Line

For unlimited ATM fee reimbursement anywhere in the world, Charles Schwab Investor Checking is the top pick. For unlimited domestic reimbursement, Axos Rewards Checking adds an interest-earning element of up to 1.00% APY. For capped reimbursement with a full-featured checking account, Ally’s $10/statement cycle cap covers most moderate ATM users. For strategies to minimize ATM costs with any account, see how to avoid ATM fees.

WealthVieu
Written by WealthVieu

WealthVieu researches and writes data-driven personal finance guides using primary sources including the IRS, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Federal Reserve, and Census Bureau.

The content on Wealthvieu is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial, tax, or investment advice. Consult a qualified professional before making financial decisions. Full disclaimer · Editorial policy